Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
phildeez_gw

Whatcha got?!

Phildeez
12 years ago

My tomatoes and peppers began budding furiously over the last few days. Looks like the Glacier heirlooms and Hot Cherries will be first.

Anyone harvesting or have fruit yet?

Comments (15)

• hosenemesis
    12 years ago

Radishes. No toms- a few green fruit, but it will be a while. The squash is going like gangbusters.

• Phildeez
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Ah, if only I had space to keep the fall veggies. Had to pull them to get in the spring/summer fun stuff.

• k9fan
    12 years ago

I have some bell pepper plants that managed not to be killed by the light frosts of winter here on the San Francisco peninsula, and some of them are starting to bud with fruit. Last year I lost virtually every single pepper to my three dogs (I am a rank amateur at gardening and didn't realize until too late that they would eat the peppers off the plants once they got really ripe), so after that experience I put up a makeshift fence. I am hopeful of a nice crop this year!

Other than the sage and oregano that overwintered very nicely, everything else is just beginning to sprout, because I didn't plant any seeds until May.

• Phildeez
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Planting seeds late is a blessing this year, Susan. This freakishly cold spring is actually causing huge problems around here for gardeners and farmers, SF may be better off with less extreme temps. I am dealing with some very stunted looking peppers that I planted on a warm day in March and have been babying through the cold ever since...Deciding if they will recover or if I should pull them and start with new ones.

• dicot
    12 years ago

Eating some great beets, onions and garlic right now, but the real treats are the early raspberries and the artichokes.

• Astroknot
    12 years ago