Return to the California Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
can i cut down my one male avocado tree?

Posted by lindsey5809 Oakland, ca (My Page) on
Fri, Jun 15, 12 at 0:47

Hi there,

I'm buying a house in Oakland, CA and there are three mature avocado trees in back and all are quite unruly. I discovered that the one we would like to remove is the sole male tree. The avocado fruit I have seen from one tree is Haas. Both females are near finished fruiting.

I'm new to the neighborhood, so there might be more trees around -- there is definitely one a couple hundred yards away, although the fruiting season is near finished and I can't tell if it is male or female.

I also don't know how to tell if my two fruiting trees are A or B. At least one is A, a Haas.

I REALLY want to remove this third tree. What do you think? Will it still receive hopeful pollination from neighboring trees? If I don't get a lot of fruit next year should I consider buying a small male B tree and keeping it under control?

Many thanks!

Lindsey

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: can i cut down my one male avocado tree?

Good news for you Lindsey- Hass don't have male trees, they are A types. You can cut down the unproductive tree with no impact on fruit production.

Wikipedia says "the avocado is unusual in that the timing of the male and female flower phases differs among cultivars. There are two flowering types, "A" and "B". "A" cultivar flowers open as female on the morning of the first day and close in late morning or early afternoon. Then they open as male in the afternoon of the second day. "B" varieties open as female on the afternoon of the first day, close in late afternoon and reopen as male the following morning.
"A" cultivars: Hass, Gwen, Lamb Hass, Pinkerton, Reed.
"B" cultivars: Fuerte, Sharwil, Zutano, Bacon, Ettinger, Sir Prize, Walter Hole."

I have two Hass trees and believe me, that's plenty! Congratulations on your new home. May you have many happy years in it.

Renee

o