Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cdksd

Drought tolerant plants dying after planting?

cdksd
14 years ago

We recently relandscaped with all drought tolerant plants. They are on a drip line every other day for 10 minutes. We were told to add extra water everyday. Somedays we did, somedays we didn't. Now 4 weeks from planting, most look very good except the ceanothus and fremontodendron. The weather has been cool, overcast mornings, and low 70's days. Are they getting too much water or not enough? How long until they are established and don't need extra water? Is it transplant shock?

Comments (7)

• trpool
    14 years ago

Hmmm. Sounds like you made a major investment in your landscape. I'm not an expert, however, I do have a mix of drought-tolerant plants, natives, and traditional plants, but I only hand water once a week, and the natives only once every 2 weeks. Usually, I try not to water unless it's a new plant, or I see something wilting. Plants, in general, seem to be a lot more drought tolerant than we think. But it might also be the frequent shallow waterings. I might try longer, deeper soaks less often.

It could be your soil. I recently went to Las Pilitas and they have some very strict recommendations about planting natives. They tell you to do a deep soak when you first plant them (which is very important) and then once a week or so (depending on the plant) for the first few months (sometimes up to a year) and then back off. I recently planted 3 drought-tolerant plants in the same general area, did my deep soak...and a three weeks later, 2 are going gangbusters, and one is shriveled up and brown. The only thing I can figure is there's something in the soil that killed it.

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    14 years ago