Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
anchuz

Fast growing, climbable tree?

anchita
9 years ago

We have a large backyard, which has a 30'X40' spot that gets mostly sun during summer -- I haven't noted its exposure during winter. I'd love to plant a tree with a low and strong enough branching structure that my kids could enjoy climbing it. A fast grower would be a plus, and double (but low priority) bonus if it would get edible fruit. I have no idea or knowledge regarding growing trees, so any guidance and/or pointers would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Comments (17)

• drinkmorewater
    9 years ago

Your kids will grow way faster than any tree, unfortunately.

• nil13
    9 years ago

If you already have kids, you would have to buy an insanely expensive gigantic box tree and have it craned in to have any chance of them climbing it. Now if you are planning on having kids in 20 years then there might be some other options. Remember, safely climbable branches are to be 6 inches in diamerer.

• Suzi AKA DesertDance So CA Zone 9b
    9 years ago

Do NOT get a fast growing Silky Oak! Worst tree on the earth. I suggest a Fig tree. Verte! Fast growing, lots of branches, and delicious fruit. Tastes like strawberries! hard to find, but I have one. Easy to grow from cuttings, but try finding a rooted one. Big, fast growing, and tons of branches. It's the answer you want.

Suzi

• surfcitysocal
    9 years ago

When I was a kid, we had an alder in our front yard that was planted when I was a baby, and in which, as I was growing up, I spent many hours at its top, looking over the roofs of the 1-story houses in our neighborhood and dreaming of flying. One of my favorite childhood memories.

• surfcitysocal
    9 years ago

I also spent many hours raking the leaves of the alder since it's deciduous...but that's not a bad chore for a kid to have to do.

• surfcitysocal
    9 years ago