Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ladybugsmom192

need info and help if you please?

ladybugsmom192
13 years ago

hey neighbors!

i'm quite new at this (only 6 weeks in)and have a few questions that i'm hoping you all can help me with.i'm in the east bay of the san francisco bay area - eastern contra costa county - and i'm wondering

1. where i can find good organic compost in my area? i've already found a place in richmond called american soil, that i got all my 'start up dirt/compost from, but they only sell in bulk, way too much for me going forward. and making my own is out of the question due to where i live.

2. is there any decent compost only product that can be found at your local chain garden center (HD, Lowes,OSH)? at home depot i can only seem to find 'enriched' potting soils/mixes, either miracle grow (MG) or scotts products. i hear from these boards that one should stay away from (MG) and i'm wondering why exactly, although i have my suspicions, lol! they have a susposedly organic mix...any thoughts?

3. should i bother with steer or chicken manure? i have two 3ft by 3ft raised beds, 16inches deep originally filled with a compost mix from american soil called local hero. i've got way too many veggies planted, which is another story, and i've been fertilzing with either fish emulsion or an all purpose 10-10-10, depending of the veggies.

so what do you think? any and all input so very greatly appreciated!!

anegla

Comments (8)

• gardenguru1950
    13 years ago

1. All "compost" is organic. "Compost" is the product of a decomposition process and it is wholly organic material; no mineral component of any kind making it unsuitable for using "as is" for growing most anything.

2. Almost every garden center and independent nursery carries bags of some kind of "compost". Sometimes it's labeled "compost", sometimes "planter mix", sometimes "mulch", sometimes "amendment". This is the material that needs to be blended with your native soil.