Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joonb_gw

Cercis occidentalis question

JoonB
10 years ago

I have 2 Western Redbud that are just beautiful- I love the leaves and the branch formation.

However, I have a problem with one of my trees. I am not an expert like many of you so please accept what may seem like a totally silly question.

It seems like the branches have leaves only at the ends of the branch. And they are not totally young branches (3 years old). So I don't understand how this is possible. Is the branch dead? Why would there be only leaves at the ends and not in the middle?

Suggestions and insight are welcome!!

Comments (3)

• hoovb zone 9 sunset 23
    10 years ago

First, how much water are your trees getting? More water might help. These are river-bed or river-side trees in nature that can get flooded in spring for a period of time; despite a reputation for drought-tolerance, they will use the water they can get. The Cercis do have a natural tendency to have empty branches nearer the trunk, but should have more foliage than just on the tips.

Second, how big were they when you planted them, and what did the root system look like. I just removed my six Cercis and did plant-autopsies, so to speak. Believe me, taking out six trees myself gave me plenty of time to inspect and think about why they were unsatisfactory.

Five of mine had what you described, leaves only at the end of bare branches. They had root systems that were wound around and around, circled roots in other words. The landscapers who installed them used old stock, that was pot-bound, and the trees were never able to develop healthy root systems that spread outwards. These were from 24" boxes. Very expensive mistake!