Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
futureblues

raspberry plants

futureblues
17 years ago

anyone having luck with heritage or calif raspberry plants..mine dont seem to be producing much....

Comments (7)

• toddscv
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I planted BABA berries in Santa Clarita and they haven't done much either. My Boysenberries went nuts. Lots of freezer jam.

Todd

• tania
    16 years ago

I've been growing Baba Raspberries for a few years now and I've never really had much of a harvest. I had big berries, but just a few here and there, like 3 or 4 berries at a time. Can't do much with those, but eat them in cereal. And to freeze them it wasn't worth it because I still wouldn't have enough berries to do anything with them, except for adding them to a glass of lemonade.

Now, in late 2005, I decided to plant some Baba's in a whisky barrel to see how they'd fair. And guess what? They did pretty darn good! I picked a nice amount. I'd eat some and freeze some. Now this year, they are doing really well, I have been picking berries every other day. Now I'm freezing most of them. Now and then I'll slip a few in my Cereal. Even my Heritage Raspberries are doing well now that I have them in a pot. I've been picking many of these as well!

I'm glad I decided to go with the whisky barrel, otherwise I would have totally given up on growing Babas.

Tania ~_~

• CA Kate z9
    16 years ago

Last summer I put Black Raspberry "Jewel" into one of my stock tanks that I use for my vegetables garden. I can control the soil and the amount of water they get.... and the critters that like to eat them. This June we've been blessed with loads of wonderful black raspberries; and now giant , new stalks are growing for next year's fruit.

• akarinz
    16 years ago

Tania,

Can you share more about your planting in the whiskey barrel? What kind of soil, how do you fertilize, sun or shade?