Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chmpgntst

What to plant in long, narrow bed?

chmpgntst
11 years ago

Hello everyone,

My family and I just moved back to San Diego last year. We have lived here once before, for 4 years, so I have some gardening experience here, and I had a garden in our last home on the East Coast that was barely controlled chaos. :-) We are maybe 2 miles from the coast, on the border between zones 23 and 24.

I am trying to decide what to plant in this bed. It is 22' long and 3' wide. The windows above it start at 30 inches so I'd prefer plants with a max height of 36". Our yard is very green but with little color, so I'm looking for flowers. I'm considering:

Trumpeter roses or other floribunda

Vera Bougainvillea (2' x 2'! thornless!)

Lantana (not my favorite but I like the idea of continuous blooming and hummingbirds and butterflies. Bees are a negative b/c I have 3 kids under 10).

I'm thinking about something vining on trellises at either end. Was thinking about star jasmine, that the dark, shiny leaves would look good against the house. Other options would be climbing roses or even a cool bottlebrush espalier I saw at the garden center.

I also like lavender and rosemary, but what could I mix in to bring more color?

The is a south-eastern facing wall so it gets lots of sun in the winter and until at least 1 pm in the summer.

I'm worried about such a narrow bed looking like a line-up, but I'm not sure how to stagger plants with only 36" of depth. Alternatively, I could do a hedge.

~sigh~ so many options! I would welcome any and all suggestions!

Comments (7)

• hoovb zone 9 sunset 23
    11 years ago

It's a bit narrow for a lot of stuff. Luckily within 2 miles of the ocean in San Diego you have the most perfect mild climate in the entire United States.

You have three little ones and they probably take up 99.999% of your time so I would not do anything too elaborate or high maintenance.