Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
momma_s

zone 9b-ers: When are you starting veggie seeds indoors?

momma_s
14 years ago

I'm starting to think about planting my fall garden, and since this is my first year gardening in CA--and in general, I was wondering... When will others in my zone start their veggie seeds indoors?

I'm looking to grow most of the cool weather crops: lettuces, carrots, broccoli, onion, garlic, peas.

TIA

Comments (17)

• gardenguru1950
    14 years ago

For Zone 14 Veggie Gardeners:

TO SOW DIRECT IN LATE SUMMER (September)

VEGETABLES

Beets
    Broad bean (fava)
    Carrots
    Celeriac
    Chard
    Chinese Cabbage
    Daikon radish
    Dandelion
    Endive, Chicory
    French (green) bean
    Kale
    Kohlrabi
    Leek
    Mustard
    Onion ("sets")
    Parsnip
    Potato ("seed potatoes")
    Purslane
    Radish
    Rutabaga
    Salsify
    Sorrel
    Spinach
    Turnips
    Tyfon

HERBS

Chervil
    Soup/leaf celery
    Marjoram
    Parsley
    Anise

TO SOW DIRECT IN FALL (October-November)

VEGETABLES

Arugula
    Beets
    Bok Choy
    Broad bean (fava)
    Carrots
    Celeriac
    Chard
    Chinese broccoli
    Chinese Cabbage
    Chinese mustard
    Collards
    Corn salad
    Cress
    Daikon radish
    Dandelion
    Endive, Chicory
    Fennel ("bulb" type)
    Garland chrysanthemum
    Kale
    Kohlrabi
    LambÂs Quarters
    Leek
    Lettuce, head
    Lettuce, loose-leaf
    Mustard
    Onion ("sets")
    Orach
    Pak Choy
    Parsnip
    Pea
    Potatoes ("seed potatoes")
    Radish
    Rutabaga
    Salsify
    Snow peas
    Sorrel
    Spinach
    Sugar peas
    Turnips
    Tyfon

HERBS

Chervil
    Soup/leaf celery
    Cilantro, coriander
    Garlic (cloves)
    Marjoram
    Parsley
    Anise

TO SOW INDOORS IN LATE SUMMER-EARLY FALL (September)
    FOR TRANSPLANTING TO THE GARDEN IN LATE FALL-EARLY WINTER

VEGETABLES

Broccoli
    Brussels Sprouts
    Cabbage
    Cauliflower
    Celery

Joe

• hosenemesis
    14 years ago