Return to the California Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
zone 9b-ers: When are you starting veggie seeds indoors?

Posted by momma_s 9b, SZ14 (My Page) on
Mon, Jul 6, 09 at 15:39

I'm starting to think about planting my fall garden, and since this is my first year gardening in CA--and in general, I was wondering... When will others in my zone start their veggie seeds indoors?

I'm looking to grow most of the cool weather crops: lettuces, carrots, broccoli, onion, garlic, peas.

TIA

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: zone 9b-ers: When are you starting veggie seeds indoors?

For Zone 14 Veggie Gardeners:

TO SOW DIRECT IN LATE SUMMER (September)

VEGETABLES

Beets
Broad bean (fava)
Carrots
Celeriac
Chard
Chinese Cabbage
Daikon radish
Dandelion
Endive, Chicory
French (green) bean
Kale
Kohlrabi
Leek
Mustard
Onion ("sets")
Parsnip
Potato ("seed potatoes")
Purslane
Radish
Rutabaga
Salsify
Sorrel
Spinach
Turnips
Tyfon

HERBS

Chervil
Soup/leaf celery
Marjoram
Parsley
Anise

TO SOW DIRECT IN FALL (October-November)

VEGETABLES

Arugula
Beets
Bok Choy
Broad bean (fava)
Carrots
Celeriac
Chard
Chinese broccoli
Chinese Cabbage
Chinese mustard
Collards
Corn salad
Cress
Daikon radish
Dandelion
Endive, Chicory
Fennel ("bulb" type)
Garland chrysanthemum
Kale
Kohlrabi
Lambs Quarters
Leek
Lettuce, head
Lettuce, loose-leaf
Mustard
Onion ("sets")
Orach
Pak Choy
Parsnip
Pea
Potatoes ("seed potatoes")
Radish
Rutabaga
Salsify
Snow peas
Sorrel
Spinach
Sugar peas
Turnips
Tyfon

HERBS

Chervil
Soup/leaf celery
Cilantro, coriander
Garlic (cloves)
Marjoram
Parsley
Anise

TO SOW INDOORS IN LATE SUMMER-EARLY FALL (September)
FOR TRANSPLANTING TO THE GARDEN IN LATE FALL-EARLY WINTER

VEGETABLES

Broccoli
Brussels Sprouts
Cabbage
Cauliflower
Celery

Joe

o

Another Joe post goes to the FAVORITES!

o

Ok... Not quite the answer I was expecting, but informational...