Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nykt15

Landscaping - Plant Suggestions (silver sheen, succulents?)

nykt15
9 years ago

Any suggestions on landscaping plant choices for a small yard in USDA zone 10 (Orange County, CA)? I need to choose plants for a new construction home, a 2' perimeter around around pavers... roughly 35' long with 15' on the sides). I'd like something low maintenance.

Landscaper has suggested ficus nitida and wax leaf privet for privacy shrubs, however local nurseries have warned against invasive roots (ficus) and bees (privet flowers). I'm now considering silver sheen or more drought tolerant plants like succulents. I like the silver sheen + blue fescue combination shown in the photo but am unsure of how practical this is.

Any advice would be great as I'm new to this, thanks!

Comments (6)

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    9 years ago

Your landscaper actually suggested Ficus nitida?!?! Get a new landscaper. I have a lovely screen of Pittosporum 'Sliver Sheen' around my 12 x 12 patio. They are lovely, lacy, block enough of the view to provide privacy, but not feel claustrophobic. I think the photo you provided is lovey The blue fescue is set off very nicely by the prett green leaves of the Silver Sheen. This pittosporum is reasonably fast growing, very easy to trim or prune/shape, and always has a nice, natural habit. Just be sure not to over-water, as it can be rather sensitive to phytophthora.

Patty S.

• hoovb zone 9 sunset 23
    9 years ago

It's a good plant in OC, best the closer you are to the Ocean, in other words it's going to look better in Costa Mesa than in Fullerton.

How much space do you have again? Realize that their DNA evolved over millions of years to make them be like this:
    {{gwi:548816}}
    They get 30' tall if you do not trim or shear, so keep that in mind.

But you can do this to them:
    {{gwi:548817}}

Yes both pictures show 'Silver Sheen'.