Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
twangme

Landscaping large areas

twangme
10 years ago

Hello! Newbie here. Finally getting to landscape our ranch. Several different areas ranging in size from 10' x 10' to 20' x 60' plus other larger wide open areas. We have clay soil with lots of weeds-Johnson grass, buckeye, melva, and the dreaded crabgrass plus various others that die and leave a not-so-lovely tan landscape. I'm so tired of looking at dirt and dead weeds! I'm looking for advice to create a clean easy-keeper style landscape. I've purchased a bunch of Crepe Myrtles, Chinese Pistache and geraniums. Looking to get some Oaks, and fruitless Mulberry. Tell me if this will work... I would like to plant trees interspaced with large boulders and geraniums and probably other perennials and some annuals. The rest of the ground I want completely clear of weeds, plants and grass. Question--Can I spray the weeds with Roundup then lay shade cloth/weed block over the top then cover that with dirt/bark/gravel? Will the Roundup kill the trees and plants?

Comments (7)

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    10 years ago

It sounds like a great project, also an expensive one. Before you make too many costly mistakes, that will require doing over, I would suggest you spend a few more dollars to hire a professional to consult on your plan. It is so easy to forget some detail, like running the water lines to provide future flexibility or changes in the future. Al

• emmarene9
    10 years ago

Round Up will kill any plant if it gets on the leaves.

• nil13
    10 years ago