Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dancer40_gw

Butterfly Bush

dancer40
12 years ago

I am still new at this gardening and one reason I never thought I could was because of my fear of bees and wasps. I wasn't going to plant any flowers just herbs and veggies, but I have morning glories, clematis, bouganvilla, jasmine, heliotrope and gardenias. I am proud of myself now I only get scared of the big bumble bees or black ones. There is one that particularly likes the flowers from my Jack B Little Pumpkin and when I see him I run inside and let him buzz around LOL. Anyway... I have been lucky not to plant anything that attracts tons of bees like salvia or lavender-if I see something at the nursery that lot's of bees are around I move on. My question is if I plant some Butterfly Bush seeds will I attract a ton of bees or wasps? I love Butterflys and Hummingbirds and I know bees are beneficial, but I don't want a LOT of them buzzing around. So far what I have on the patio all in containers and balcony have not been magnets for bees and I would like to keep it that way. Also can this bush grow in California? I live in Rancho Santa Margarita.

Comments (19)

• wcgypsy
    12 years ago

On our property, we occasionally get bees swarming, making temporary hives (3 times in the last 3 years, thousands of bees), last year they were hanging just above my head from the pine tree under which I was working. We have right now 3 yellow jacket nests going in a 3 different spots in the ground, we have lots and lots of bees, they're everywhere. I have been stung twice in about 30 years, each time from a bee flying in the window of the car while on the road. Unless you're allergic to bee stings, please don't worry about them. If you're not allergic to bees, even if you get stung, you put some ice on it and keep doing whatever you were doing...truly, you don't need to panic about the bees.

• wcgypsy
    12 years ago

Yep, they do...I grow tons of salvias...lol..

• chas045
    12 years ago