Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nova0929

fast growing shade tree

nova0929
12 years ago

We moved into a new house with no shade trees and it is HOT here in Pasadena! We are only living here for the next 8 years so I'd love to plant trees that will provide shade quickly! AND I would love to find trees that don't lose their leaves in the winter because it can be hot here year-round. Would love to have a shady backyard.

I am very interested in Royal Empress Paulownia (30 ft in 3 yrs!) BUT they lose their leaves in the Winter. Other fast-growing trees are crepe myrtles (but only 3-5 ft/year). (I've been looking on the web page http://www.fast-growing-trees.com)

Or -- because it's such a mild climate, do trees NOT go dormant or lose their leaves in the winter??

And, of course you know that it doesn't rain here about April-October.

Thank you! I'm new to southern California!

Comments (12)

• hosenemesis
    12 years ago

Hi there nova, and welcome to California.

I looked up the DG ratings of fastgrowingtrees.com and they were very bad. I would avoid that place.

A beautiful and fast-growing evergreen is Deodar Cedar. They do very well in Pasadena, and they are a stately and elegant tree.

I love my California Pepper but many people consider them to be weeds. Very fast-growing and evergreen.

California Sycamores are fast growing, but they are deciduous.

Renee

• nova0929
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Oh, I should say that there is a sprinkler system in the backyard (we are renting - landlord says it's okay to plant trees!)- so the trees will get regular watering in the summer.

Thank you for your ideas!

Love the idea of the California Pepper.

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    12 years ago