Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jenn_gw

Converting sunny border to edible landscape

jenn
12 years ago

I am planning to convert large sections of a sunny border in our backyard into edible landscaping. Currently it has some large bare spots and we are running out of sunny areas for growing sun-loving edibles.

This border is about 4-5 feet deep X about 30 feet long. I would like grow some veggies and herbs in square or rectangular patches along this border (my own version of square-foot gardening). This border gets all-day sun in front of a short block retaining wall.

Except for a few herbs, peppers and tomatoes, I'm relatively new to this and plan to start simple and learn as I go. I know about amending the soil well, rotating crops, keeping the weeds out, etc. We garden organically and the birds do a good job of picking off the worms and other pests -- we've never seen a single worm on any of our tomatoes -- and we have a large compost pile. I'm retiring this fall and will have lots of time to devote to the garden. I ordered some seeds from Renee's Garden Seeds to start later this month.

I want to include some compatible plants (perennials/annuals) amongst the edibles such as Agastache rupestris. What are your favorites? Any words of wisdom from experience? Favorite books or other resources?

Comments (10)

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    12 years ago