Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elsch

gopher mounds but can't find tunnels to place traps

elvie z9CA
13 years ago

Hi everyone. I am new at the art of gopher trapping and need your advice. I saw 2 gopher mounds in an area of my garden. Three days later, I saw new mounds somewhere else . I bought a black box gopher trap to kill them, So I dug into all of the mounds, but I have not been able to locate a tunnel to place the trap in. I tried the newest mounds first, but found no tunnel, and no damage to plants that I see yet. How do I proceed?

Thanks!

Comments (13)

• gobluedjm 9/18 CA
    13 years ago

Probably in your digging you may have collapsed it and its further away from mound. He won't bother coming to that mound again as it is definately air tight.
    Take a long screwdriver and poke around you should be able to find a tunnel. You can place the black box type at any tunnel and its lights out for him when he attempts to make it air tight.
    Or you can always flood the area and then poke around. When water runs quickly to area you've found one...maybe.
    Then wait for him to dig again and act quickly.
    I have flooded them before and usually they just move 6-8 feet away.

• hosenemesis
    13 years ago

I have to dig a pretty big hole to find the tunnels, and they are often deeper than I expect. The hole I dug into the lawn was about 20 inches in diameter and went down about nine or ten inches. I found two tunnel holes at about six inches and a big tunnel at about nine inches. I also use the hose to find them.
    Renee

• zeuspaul
    13 years ago

The main tunnel may not be directly under the center of the mound. The feeder tunnel may start at the edge of the mound and is most likely back filled with dirt.

You can get a general idea where the main tunnel is by the placement of the mounds.