Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jordanz_gw

What grows in the Mojave Desert (Kern County)?

jordanz
13 years ago

I'm somewhat new the Mojave desert, moved here a couple years ago and have tried experimenting with several flowers/trees for our yard. I live a half hour north of Edwards AFB, 10 minutes away from the city of Mojave. What type of trees, bushes, and flowers grow good here?

I'm a newbie gardener, so any info would be great. I'm not a fan of desert landscaping or too many cactus'. We've had good luck with 2 palm trees that are growing like crazy, but I want some good leafy drougt-tolerant trees that can withstand full 110 sun in the summer, and only need watered once a week or so (like my palm trees).

We've also had good luck growing peter pan grass, and several types of annual flowers (can't rememeber the names, one starts with a 'V')...but those are on soaker hoses each morning. Any flowers or trees that grow great in the desert with only watering 1-2 times per week?

Comments (11)

• gobluedjm 9/18 CA
    13 years ago

Pick up a Sunset Western Gardening book for starters.
    Look around your neighborhood and hopefully others are growing something other than cacti and plain hedges.
    You might try pansies or violas for color in the winter.
    Once you get natives established the first year there is no watering in the summer. There is a section for CA natives in the book I recommend. I would think some of the heat loving salvias and sages would do good there.
    Check on manzanitas also.

• jordanz
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks for the suggestions, I'll check in to that. I can see what other people are growing, but I have no clue what they're called (I don't want to go asking random people what is that your growing!).