Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carney_gw

Leaf curls on citrus tree

carney
17 years ago

My orange tree has leaf curls. What can I do to eliminate the condition and not have it return?

Comments (35)

• skrip
    17 years ago

There could be many reasons.

But the newest one to hit L.A. County is the introduction of Leaf Miners! Take a closer look at the tight curl, do you see a wiggly trail in the leaf? This is my first year to get this pest. And you will also notice that the old leaves are not affected, only the new growth. This is a new thing for us and there is no real solution yet, besides oil sprays and such. If your citrus is small and new, it might affect it a bit more than an old tree. This bug has been in San Bernardino county since around 2000, and now its hit us.

If its not that, then its possibly too dry and you need more water.

• gardenguru1950
    17 years ago

The most common cause of curly leaves on citrus is aphids.

The problem in controlling them is that they are inside the curling of the leaf, making them difficult to spray. Unfortunately, systemic sprays are not recommended for edibles.

It usually helps to manage the ants as well. They are the shepherds of the aphids and you can keep them off your citrus by using Tanglefoot in bands arond the trunk (on papper collars).

Once the ants are under control, introduce some beneficial insects such as lacewings. Don't buy ladybugs from a retail store.

Joe

• skrip
    17 years ago

Where can you buy Tanglefoot?

I forgot to mention aphids, but this is so common I just missed it. I usually hose them off when I see a large cluster of them.

• daxangel
    17 years ago

I also have the same problem with curly leafs on my lemon tree. It just happened in the past month, i notice these swirly white lines on them. It might be those leaf miners you must be talking about unless you think otherwise. But only oil could fix the problem?

Dax

• skrip
    17 years ago