Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rafaellangerosuna

Help - drowning or dessicating? SF peninsula

Hi all,

My apologies if this is a topic that gets rehashed frequently, but I am new to the combination of clay soils, blazing sun, wind, deciduousness, and aridity that is summer time in the San Francisco bay area (San Carlos/Peninsula in particular).

I have recently started trying to plant an otherwise barren hillside with plants - blueberries, currants, citrus, avocadoes, pomegranates, mulberries, etc.

I'm coming from Miami, Florida and my gardening skills are attuned to the wet, well-drained, and hot climate.

I can't tell if I'm drowning my plants or letting them dry out (or if they're simply going dormant for the fall). My pomegranate (angel red) seems to be dead; the blueberries are browning, and the mulberry I planted went almost completely yellow and dropped most of its leaves.

The ground appears to be drying out between waterings and I'm only watering 1-2 times a week. But I'm working with what I'm guessing is very poorly drained soil because it is rock hard clay.

Can anyone give me tips for assessing if the plants are under-watered or overwatered? Any other locals have a sense of whether its an early fall or whether newly planted plants might be going into the fall leaf drop? Or how (when?) to establish plants on a clay covered, sunny hillside in California?

Thanks in advance.

Rafael

Comments (5)

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    9 years ago

Why try to grow in such neglected soil? Time spent making the soil drain and not the compacted garden you moved into, will make your gardening experience much improved. Trying to start a garden in mid summer is another handicap. When the rains start would be a good time to work on your soil, dig in about four inches of compost to start. Almost all of your shrubs would grow better if started when dormant, and in the winter rainy season. Al

• lazy_gardens
    9 years ago