Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tmnca

What kind of tree is this?

Tmnca
11 years ago

What kind of tree is this? I am looking for a similar tree for my patio area, this one belongs to my neighbor and seems a good fit.

{{gwi:556570}}

Comments (17)

• wcgypsy
    11 years ago

Possibly a ficus? Whatever it is, it appears as though they keep hacking it back to keep it with bounds and it's not able to show any natural grace.....

But then......I could be wrong.....

• Tmnca
    Original Author
    11 years ago

It looks like a pruned ficus to me, too. But I am far from a tree expert. They can be pruned into nice topiary shapes. I thought a bay laurel might work better because it requires less water.

• vall3fam
    11 years ago

Appears to be a Camellia japonica that has been shaped badly.

• wcgypsy
    11 years ago

lol...that was my second choice...

• Tmnca
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Ah yes I do think it had white flowers earlier this year. It looks cute to me.

• JXBrown (Sunset 24, N San Diego County)
    11 years ago

Looks like a camellia to me, too. Probably not hacked up because they don't grow that big, but they aren't particularly graceful in form. On the other hand they have nice, shiny evergreen foliage, a long bloom season, no thorns and would be more likely to work in your courtyard. Have you thought about columnar evergreens? They might be a better choice, albeit without flowers.

• Tmnca
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Well today I just went ahead and planted the other side with perennials, no tree. I think I need to take more time to figure out what will work there and what I want. I looks so much better now just with the plants, and I am looking for a couple of wall-mount half-urns (in a classical or mediterranean style) to put on the stucco wall along the right side, where the carport is. I think some creeping rosemary in there with some ivy geraniums or some other colorful flowers will add interest to the wall.