Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sweetsally50

Why lemons won't turn yellow?

sweetsally50
17 years ago

We have a Meyer's lemon tree. Recently, we've been getting large lemons that won't turn yellow. These lemons have been growing on the tree for 3-4 months. One lemon, in particular, is approx 9" in diameter (size of a small grapefruit) and is very green. Other lemons on the tree are approx 6" in diameter but also very green. What causes lemons to grow to such large sizes but not turn yellow? Thank you for your help!

Comments (23)

• Heathen1
    17 years ago

I am going to throw this out there.... maybe it's a lime tree, sometimes there are mislabeled trees? Has it grown out from it's graft? At my old house, there was an old qumquat, where the underlying lemon had grown out underneath the graft which made HUGE lemons, but they turned yellow.

• skrip
    17 years ago

um, im no citrus expert but its probably okay. I have a tangerine tree which had tangerines for about 4 months that stood green... this week, i am finally seeing some of them start going yellow. Give them a little more time... Its possible that some of your lemons will be alot bigger than the standard meyer. I used to get tiny tangerines, but when I switched to sprinklers as opposed to rarely watering, every year they got bigger and bigger, some the size of an orange.

• jakkom
    17 years ago

Citrus can take from 6 - 18 months to ripen. It isn't unusual at all for a Meyer to start throwing out extra large fruit, particularly with sufficient water as per skrip's experience with his tangerines. Citrus is very sensitive to watering. Don't worry and just enjoy them when they do ripen!

I have friends that have the old Meyer Lemon trees. Most of them were destroyed by the state, but some got missed that were in residential yards. I have only the Improved Meyers and there is a difference in size and shape.

• CA Kate z9
    17 years ago

Heathen: even limes get yellow when they're ripe..... eventually.