Return to the California Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What's happening to my Ridge Gourd?

Posted by SankarReddy13 CA (My Page) on
Sun, Oct 2, 11 at 15:57

Hi,

I am a newbie gardener and started with few tomato plants, ridge gourd and some leafy vegetables. Tomatoes, leafy vegetables are good but having few problems with the ridge gourd. I have few ridge gourd plants very near to each other and they are inter-twined already so its kind of hard for me to isolate if the problem is only for a specific plant or to all of them. The problem is some ridge gourds are going bad (dis colorization and falling off) but others are fine. The ones that are going bad are as small as less than a inch to as big as more than 3 inches. I am attaching some photos of both the good ones and the bad ones. Anyone have a clue on what's going on. By the way, I am in northern california and the soil type is clay. Thanks in advance.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/11168675@N06/sets/72157627802274022/detail/

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What's happening to my Ridge Gourd?

The little ones weren't pollinated.

o

Thanks Jean. That is interesting and may be this is where I should think about adding some plants that attract butterflies/bees? Is there anything else that can be done to increase pollination?

I see few bees and some lady bugs on these trees but not a lot though. Appreciate the feedback.

o

You asked "Is there anything else that can be done to increase pollination?"

Yes, you can be the bee by using a small child's paintbrush to spread pollen from open male blossom to open female blossom.

Also need appropriate temps for the plant at hand, neither too high nor too low.

o

I will learn how to do that. Thanks for the reply.

o