Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
name_n1

Which plants would do well in a shady north-facing SF garden?

N. S.
11 years ago

I have a sloped (about 30-45 degrees angle) space (about 4 feet by 8 feet) that needs love. The spot has tall buildings (3 stories) on west and south side, and partly on the east side, so the only open exposure is north. Right now moss grows well there but I would like something more decorative.

It is a mid-foggy part of San Francisco. I am curious about native plants but are they a lot of work? I am a very inexperienced gardener. Or should I just pick a few ferns?

I would greatly appreciate your advice.

Comments (10)

• nil13
    11 years ago

You make ferns sound like such a bummer. I love ferns and you can pick pretty any kind you want. The natives are Polypodium californicum, Polysticum californicum, and Polystichum munitum.

What do you want? Do you want larger shrubs, flowers, grass, groundcover, or trees?

• Bob_B
    11 years ago

What about fuchsias. They should do well. Talk to your nurseryman about a variety that is resistant to the fuchsia mite. Oliver's snapweed should also do well and provide a little color.

• nil13
    11 years ago

You make ferns sound like such a bummer. I love ferns and you can pick pretty any kind you want. The natives are Polypodium californicum, Polysticum californicum, and Polystichum munitum.

What do you want? Do you want larger shrubs, flowers, grass, groundcover, or trees?

• hosenemesis
    11 years ago

If you plan it out, different kinds of ferns would be beautiful. How about some hellebores? I like Cast Iron Plant too- nice deep green leaves.
    Heucheras might do well there and there are a lot of native varieties to choose from. Hummingbird sage grows well in shady spots for me, but it mildews easily.
    Renee

• N. S.
    Original Author
    11 years ago

thank you so much for your suggestions, though I had to google most of them as their names are unfamiliar to me.