Return to the California Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Walkway and raised bed next to front door

Posted by dziadzia 24 (My Page) on
Sat, Oct 12, 13 at 18:57

Hi all, I am in San Diego near the coast and am looking for inspiration. I am new to California gardening and trying to learn and ask for advice!

See the attached pic for my walkway just to the left of my front door. We are having the retaining wall replaced and everything (including the house) painted a warm caramel color. I would like some sort of an upright shrub ( or one I could prune up ) planted in the raised bed. The bed is about 5 1/2 ft deep and I would love something relatively drought tolerant and providing year round interest. I considered a manzanita but heard they are slow growing and I want to block out the neighbors grill sooner than later :)

I also want to plant something relatively narrow on either side of the walkway. Do you have any suggestions?

Thanks in advance for any ideas.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Walkway and raised bed next to front door

It might be just me,but I don't see a front door or a walkway in this picture.Can't quite figure out what it is i'm looking at!! Did you by any chance post the wrong picture???

I'm just north of you in Oceanside,also along the coast.I have heavenly bamboo planted near my front porch.I like it as it's colorful year round,and in the fall has berries for the birds.

Let me see if I can find a picture.

Here you go,it's the bush/hedge on the left side in the picture,and you can see the nice coloring it has.

heavenly bamboo-hydrangeas photo DSCF0826.jpg

hth
Kathi

o

• Posted by hoovb z9 Southern CA (My Page) on
    Sun, Oct 13, 13 at 20:43

I think the OP means those stepping stones are the walkway. The raised bed and neighbor's barbeque in the distance and center of photo.

How much sun do the areas get, and are you right along the ocean or inland a ways? That matters.

o