Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ronda17

SoCal help with pool backyard

Ronda17
10 years ago

Hello,

I recently bought a fixer upper home with an interesting backyard. It is all concrete except for a few small planters next to the house and then a hillside planter that runs the length of the fence and borders my pool. It was very neglected and overrun so I am having it stripped to the bare bones except for some giant birds of paradise that I like that are salvageable. I need some advice on what to plant that will look "tropically" like the bop and won't shed a lot of debris in the pool. I am planning on buying some more bop but it needs some variety especially since the rest of the yard is concrete. I am a total newb at this stuff so any help is welcome.

I have been reading and looking and like the looks of so much but I have no idea if its feasible in my area. I am in RIverside County so lots of sun and a fair amount of wind during certain seasons.

Thanks
Ronda

Comments (8)

• WinslowsMom
    10 years ago

Canna lillies are very pretty and enjoy the sun and aren't very messy. They will grow tall if you let them, and come in lovely leaf variations and bloom colors that work with bop. I like them way better !

• WinslowsMom
    10 years ago

How deep is your planter ? Why don't you stick a small meyers lemon in ? It will offer variety and refreshing lemonade in those hot riverside summers (and winters - I have a crop just ripening now). Then, they would be good in a big terra cotta pot on your cement too.

• iris_gal
    10 years ago

What are winter low temps? These are some low water and low maintenance ones.

Agapanthus

Dietes (Fortnight Lily)

Erigeron - as a spiller, low water

Kangaroo Paw

Kniphofia (Red Hot Poker Plant) - too much sun ???

Nandina (Heavenly bamboo)

Succulents

• hoovb zone 9 sunset 23
    10 years ago

Check the Sunset Western Garden Book, available at most public libraries. They have a good section on "What to plant around a pool".