Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joan_h_gw

Sunburned plants - what to do

Joan.H
9 years ago

Hello! We've had some record breaking heat here in SoCal. Super heat like that is uncommon where I am, and it's taken its toll on some of my plants. In particular, boxwood and Peter Pan agapanthus. They're both pretty badly burned. My questions are these . . . can I just shear the agapanthus way back, like almost to the ground? Will it come back in the spring? The leaves are too small and too many to deal with individually. Sort of the same with the boxwood. Can I give it a heavy pruning? I've never done that before. It gets sheared into a small hedge but never pruned. Got ideas for me? Thanks!

Comments (8)

• emmarene9
    9 years ago

I would leave the Boxwood alone and cut back they Agapanthus.
    Think of your Boxwood as being deciduous this year.

Both plants can tolerate high heat so I don't know what happened to yours. I have both and it gets high nineties and over a hundred here.

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    9 years ago

Sunburn, technically 'photo oxidation' is different than heat damage. It's unlikely to be sunburn unless your plants were suddenly subjected to more light than they were acclimated to. Example - a heavy pruning that exposes foliage previously shaded by the foliage that was removed, or moving a plant from shade to full sun. The excess light stimulates the release of an O- molecule which oxidizes the first organic molecule it encounters - exactly the same way O- molecules in H2O2 (hydrogen peroxide) bleach (oxidize) organic molecules.