Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
patmonk

Zone Buddies. San Francisco ??

patmonk
12 years ago

Kinda hesitant to post this as I find accessing stuff on this site very frustrating, could just be because I'm not that computer savvy, but...I'm NOT an expert. I have small Noe Valley backyard with some planters I have built on top of concrete slab, plus a small patch of 'real dirt'. Wondering if any one is interested, especially in Noe Valley/Mission or similar, so many micro-climates here, in sharing occasional tips, feedback etc. Anyone get any Tomatoes this year, I'm digging out green fried tomato recipes !!

Comments (9)

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    12 years ago

There are many posters gardening in SF. I lived there at various times in my life, in different neighborhoods including Noe valley(Elizabeth St). NONE of SF is regarded as Tomato growing ideal site. With experience you can grow your own tomatoes, MOST years. Al

• jakkom
    12 years ago

Heck, I live 25 miles away in the Oakland hills where I'm on the very edge of the fog belt. It's easily +5 degrees warmer where I live with much less windy conditions...and I gave up trying to grow tomatoes several years ago. Roses are so much easier, LOL.

What does surprise me is that so few people in SF grow Meyer lemons. They love our climate and can adapt to pot living quite well - the Citrus forum has lots of tips for soil mix and fertilizing.

When I was still working, I knew I could always take my excess lemons into the office and poof! They were gone so fast, if you waited until lunchtime you were out of luck.

But otherwise, stick to cool weather crops. Much easier for you.

• bahia
    12 years ago