Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nderevj

Help: Star Jasmine with Yellow / Faded Leaves

nderevj
10 years ago

I'm brand new to gardening and I'm trying to understand what is happening with my Star Jasmine. I've had it for about 10 months. Over the last 2-3 months it's leaves have started to turn yellow and fade. Is this normal?

What's odd is that I have 3 trellises side by side, the middle one seems to be the most healthy- dark green and full of leaves.

I appreciate any suggestions :)

- Nick

Comments (14)

• bahia
    10 years ago

Give it a good mulch with nice compost, or fertilize with a slow release balanced fertilizer. A foliar feeding might also green it up more quickly.

• nil13
    10 years ago

The pic is a little blurry and it's hard to see what's going on with the new growth. Does the new growth show the same yellowing of the leaf veins (veinal chlorosis). Is the plant at the base also showing veinal chlorosis?

• nil13
    10 years ago

when it first started, was the yellowing on new growth or old growth?

• nderevj
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I'll post a few more photos (hopefully they help).

#2 is a closer view of the leaves in question.

• nderevj
    Original Author
    10 years ago

#3 newer growth showing signs, just not as drastic.

• nderevj
    Original Author
    10 years ago

#4 the middle trellis (the 3rd trellis is just to the right, cut off in the photo) seems to be doing better. Green leaves and more filled out. They were planted at the same time.

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    10 years ago

Could be lack of nitrogen or herbicide toxicity, is this possible? I would try added nitrogen to see the response. Al

• nil13
    10 years ago

that looks like herbicide toxicity to me. Nitrogen deficiency effects old growth first and the new growth will still look good. It also starts with interveinal chlorosis not veinal chlorosis.

This post was edited by nil13 on Wed, Nov 6, 13 at 11:08

• hoovb zone 9 sunset 23
    10 years ago