Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
treenovice_2010

Best tree for front yard in East Bay California

treenovice_2010
13 years ago

I would like to plant a tree with the following qualities...does it exist?? Any recommendations?

- Multi trunk

- evergreen

- flowering (but not too messy with pods and seeds, etc.)

- nice fragrance, not pungent like the pyrus kawakamii

- Not a dense canopy...so that we can still have a filtered view of the street

The tree would have full sun since we face the south.

Easy to grow would also be nice, given that I am a complete garden novice. Thanks!

Comments (16)

• stanofh 10a Hayward,Ca S.F. bay area
    13 years ago

Jacaranda-semi evergreen, BEAUTIFUL blue flowers, open canopy. A bit messy at leaf drop.Feathery leaves. It can be multi trunking or a single. No fragrance. Drought tolerant.

• iris_gal
    13 years ago

If you can tolerate a deciduous, Crepe Myrtles are one of the most gorgeous multi-trunked tree I've seen. The ones with Indian names have great resistance to mildew for those in damp zones.
    Most 'multis' I can think of are deciduous - Tulip Magnolia, Saucer Magnolia....
    Arbutus unedo is evergreen but may not fit your other landscaping. Ditto for Olive.
    I have seen Oleanders trained as multi-trunks and very attractive.
    Chitalpa is one to google - heard excellent things of this one.

• wanda
    13 years ago

Western Redbud, but no fragrance.

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    13 years ago

The Arbutus Marina is the most beautiful tree all year around. If it has a fault it may drop small fruits occasionally. It has a bloom that attracts hummingbirds but is not showy. If pruned to multitrunk the slick red structure is stunning all year as is the deep green foliage. It does not require summer water or spraying, ever.
    The Chitalpa is also beautiful with a very long bloom season of showy flowers. It is however deciduous and drops its leaves over a long season. Al

• bahia
    13 years ago