Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
olddog1213

New to Camellias

olddog1213
11 years ago

I am new to growing Camellias and I need information. I live in Central Florida and grow mostly Hibiscus. I have some sun and quite a bit of shade that gets 1-2 hours of sun per day.

I don't know if I should just forget my shady areas or not. I think I get enough sun in these areas but I don't know if Camellias need full sun in order to bloom or not.

Any and all information will be helpful. I just want to grow some plain ole Camellias.

Comments (11)

• ianbrazil
    11 years ago

Camellias do really well in a subtropical climate. If you have a good, humous rich soil (no lime) I find they are best left on their own to do their own thing. I never prune them, though do give them a little fertilizer - wood ash - once a year after they have done flowering. They do like some shade wherever the sun is very hot, if possible, however.

• luis_pr
    11 years ago

All plants need some sun exposure to produce blooms. While the sasanqua leaves can handle more sunlight exposure than japonica leaves, in Florida I would provide them with some afternoon shade. I have noticed that the sun here in Texas is quite hard on leaves that are exposed to a lot of sun during the worst of the summer months. Since your are further south, I would expect that your sun exposure in the summer will be slightly stronger than mine.

Shady areas that are bright due to indirect light reflecting from other surfaces (walls, driveways, etc) and dappled sun will work fine. Two hours of sun will also be fine.

I have a White By The Gate Japonica that gets limited sun and it does fine, ready to burst with blooms in a month or so. A pergola and a kitchen wall make it get direct sun only during the 11am-1pm time, with some dappled sun during the morning. The area is bright due to this indirect light effect.

Below is a link to the American Camellia Society with useful information.