Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
starfruit_1

sob sob.. Somethings wrong with my plant! sob..

starfruit_1
17 years ago

Hiii i am completely new to growing comellias

when i first boght it there were lots flower buds but now they're all drying up (the outs side layers are peeling off) and falling off.

and its leaves are turning a dull green and falling off.

Also the new shoots of leaves are drying up too!! you now there are lots of layers wrapped around the new shoot ya? theyre drying up and fall off tooo.

What shoud i do?

should i trim off the tops of my plant (but its not very big though)?

PLEASE HELP

MAny thanksssss

much love

Comments (5)

• luis_pr
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hello, starfruit_1. As long as you meet certain plant requirements, camellias should not have the problems that you describe. What you need to do next is identify which plant requirements are not being met and check my section on pests. See which ones apply to your case in Hong Kong. I apologize if this answer is too long but I was trying to cover all the possible causes. While you did not state so, I assumed you planted the camellia outside and that the variety is good for planting in your zone in Hong Kong.

Planting: camellias like to be planted near the top of the soil. Make sure that yours is planted slightly above ground level. Also make sure that the location you chose has no drainage issues.

Lighting requirements: camellias like dappled sun or morning sun with afternoon shade. Here in Texas, I choose locations that are shaded starting at 11am because of the strong summer sun.

Too much sun causes some leaves to turn a dull green, a mustard-like green or bronze color. But many times the problem is temporary. For example, plants recently moved from a nursery (where they get lots of shade) to ones backyard (where they get more sun than at nursery) can suffer from sunburn or bronzing of the leaves temporarily.... until the plant adjusts on its own.