Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
temecula_gw

Scented camellias

Temecula
20 years ago

I just left the Camellia Forest web site (are they reputable?) where I found descriptions of scented camellias. I've never noticed scent in a camellia before, but I am pretty new to them. If you are familiar with any of these, I'd love to hear your comments. Also if you could post pictures or can give me heights, bloom times, etc. that would be great. These are the varieties I read were scented:

Cinnamon Cindy

Cinnamon Scentsation

High Fragrance

Scentuous

Spring Mist

Comments (12)

• jeff_al
    20 years ago

that nursery received good marks from the people who report to garden watchdog. i have not ordered from them, but i would not be hesitant to do so.
    if you will do a search at gardenweb for "fragrant camellias", you should find many posts pertaining to that subject.
    if i recall, the question of fragrance is subjective, depending on the sniffer. in other words, probably average to slight fragrance at best, on a good day.

• bungalow_mikee
    20 years ago

High fragrance- Pale ivory pink with deeper pink shades at edge. Medium, peony form. Vigorous, open growth, mid to late season.

Scentous- Miniature to small loose peony. White with pink near edges. Growth upright and willowy. Mid season

Spring Mist- Small, semi-double, blush pink shading to white. Vigorous, upright, open growth, Mid season

• bungalow_mikee
    20 years ago

Since you are in CA you might want to check out Nuccio's Nursery in Altadena. They are world famous!

• jane_socal
    20 years ago

An article in the LA Times yesterday(see separate posting) quotes Tom Nuccio as saying, re 'High Fragrance,' "On a scent scale of 10, this one's an 8 or 9." It's noted as "a descendant of the sweet-smelling C. lutchuensis." The accompanying picture shows a ruffly pink-and-white flower.