Return to the Camellia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Scented camellias

Posted by Temecula z9/19 CA (My Page) on
Sun, Feb 8, 04 at 11:51

I just left the Camellia Forest web site (are they reputable?) where I found descriptions of scented camellias. I've never noticed scent in a camellia before, but I am pretty new to them. If you are familiar with any of these, I'd love to hear your comments. Also if you could post pictures or can give me heights, bloom times, etc. that would be great. These are the varieties I read were scented:
Cinnamon Cindy
Cinnamon Scentsation
High Fragrance
Scentuous
Spring Mist

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Scented camellias

that nursery received good marks from the people who report to garden watchdog. i have not ordered from them, but i would not be hesitant to do so.
if you will do a search at gardenweb for "fragrant camellias", you should find many posts pertaining to that subject.
if i recall, the question of fragrance is subjective, depending on the sniffer. in other words, probably average to slight fragrance at best, on a good day.

o

High fragrance- Pale ivory pink with deeper pink shades at edge. Medium, peony form. Vigorous, open growth, mid to late season.

Scentous- Miniature to small loose peony. White with pink near edges. Growth upright and willowy. Mid season

Spring Mist- Small, semi-double, blush pink shading to white. Vigorous, upright, open growth, Mid season

o
RE: Scented camellias--

Since you are in CA you might want to check out Nuccio's Nursery in Altadena. They are world famous!

o

An article in the LA Times yesterday(see separate posting) quotes Tom Nuccio as saying, re 'High Fragrance,' "On a scent scale of 10, this one's an 8 or 9." It's noted as "a descendant of the sweet-smelling C. lutchuensis." The accompanying picture shows a ruffly pink-and-white flower.