Return to the Camellia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Unknown Leaf Condition

Posted by gardenrookie_2010 CA / 9b (My Page) on
Sun, Feb 7, 10 at 19:18

Hello Everyone,

About a year ago I bought a camellia sinensis to help spice up my patio. Since I got it, it's basically tripled in size. However, I fear now my lack of knowledge is killing it. In the last month it's gone from green to this. I'm not sure what i'm doing wrong. I'm a complete newb to all of this.

I've searched the internet and can't find a single picture that exactly matches this and I fear doing anything else may make the condition worse.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Unknown Leaf Condition

How long has the plant had this problem?

Did this happen just recently or a while back ago & the problem has since stabilized?

Have you looked underneath the leaves for pests?

Some aphids attack leaves by sucking up the leaf juices and causing some distortion, curling or crinkling of leaves. They prefer tender new young leaves. You can wash them with a strong water spray or a soapy-water mix.

o

It looks like what we get on our tea plants when we get a freeze, but your being in 9b, I doubt this is the case. I looks like it's on the older leaves, so I wouldn't worry too much about it, they may drop when the new growth starts coming on. Could it be sunburn? Perhaps you moved it, or it's light conditions changed? Just a thought, this may not be the case.

o

Gardenrookie, would you please take another picture in two weeks from the same general perspective plus a close-up picture of the one left hand, sort of upright leaf with some brown discoloration showing on it. In California one must be alert to Sudden Oak Wilt (Phytophthora ramorum) which affects Camellias. It may or may not be your problem but stay alert to the possibility.

o

• Posted by jean001 z8aPortland, OR (My Page) on
    Sun, Feb 14, 10 at 0:35

Sorry, no way is that any where close to sudden oak death.