Return to the Camellia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Camellia Id?

Posted by skhaire 7b/8a (My Page) on
Sun, Mar 30, 14 at 11:11

Got this camellia which we still have to plant in ground. What camellia is this and how tall and wide does it grow? Will it survive sun or does have to be in shade?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Camellia Id?

It appears to be a japonica, which prefers morning sun and afternoon shade. I am not good at guessing exact variety names so try the link below if someone does not chime in. Where did you get it?

Here is a link that might be useful: American Camellia Society Link

o

I agree with Luis that it looks like a japonica camellia, and they generally like some shade. Almost all camellias can get to be the size of a small tree, but they are fairly slow-growing, and can be kept smaller by pruning.

The flower in your photo is a formal double shape. Some camellias are sneaky and have more than one bloom shape, so attempting an ID from just one flower can be tricky.

Three camellias that I know of with red formal double flowers are 'April Kiss', 'April Rose' and 'Pope Pius IX' AKA 'Prince Eugene Napoleon'. Usually, 'Pope Pius' has a larger flower, but with this cold winter almost all blooms are a bit smaller this year, so I wouldn't rule that out. I'm sure there are other red formal doubles that it could be.

You may want to wait until your plant stops blooming before you plant it- often the stress of planting can cause the buds to drop off. It won't hurt the plant if you put it in the ground now- don't plant it too deep!- but it may stop blooming early.

Good luck!

o

Did you ever get it identified?
I was thinking Camellia japonica 'Mathotiana'
Just my two cents.
Darren

o Post a Follow-Up

Please Note: Only registered members are able to post messages to this forum.

If you are a member, please log in.

If you aren't yet a member, join now!

Return to the Camellia Forum

Information about Posting