Return to the Camellia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
cotton ball looking thing on winter blooming camellia

Posted by fragrant_grower Z7a/b, NC (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 17, 06 at 0:22

Hi,
I am new to camellias and i bought this fall 2 winter blooming, japonica? and 1 spring blooming, sasanka?. they are all doing fine. however, one winter blooming bush has some cotton looking thing on its branches. not sure what it is.
the spring blooming just finished blooming but now its leaves are turning yellow. i could be overwatering but have stopped doing so.
what could be the problem? i put some slow release fertilizer from sta-green for camellias early spring. how can i get the maximum winter blooms on these camellias?
thanks in advance.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: cotton ball looking thing on winter blooming camellia

• Posted by bboy z8 WA USA (My Page) on
    Wed, Apr 19, 06 at 14:43

Probably camellia scale.

o

• Posted by jean001 z8aPortland, OR (My Page) on
    Thu, Apr 20, 06 at 1:06

Could be that sort of scale.

But it would help to know what size and shape that "cotton ball thing" is.

o

Thank you both for responding. the size is about small cranberry white and seemed that where the flower was in winter, thats the spot this cotton ball is. Am overwatering?

o

• Posted by jean001 z8aPortland, OR (My Page) on
    Fri, Apr 21, 06 at 23:50

Well, then it's not camellia scale.

Perhaps the beginnings of seed pods?

o