Return to the Camellia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Placement of 'April Tryst'

Posted by oath5 z6b/7a MD (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 13, 08 at 12:05

I just purchased a gorgeous 'April Tryst' camellia and I'm kinda wondering where to put it. The label said light shade, which can be pretty variable, right? I thought though, since I'm in a colder zone, that protecting it from western exposure is the best way? Or can April Tryst take some more sun....

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Placement of 'April Tryst'

Hi Oath,

I'm pretty new to camelllias myself and my first camellia was an April Tryst (which is blooming right now, and I agree, it is gorgeous!.

I have mine at a southwestern exposure which is a bit too sunny for it. I grow tall delphiniums and cleomes in front of it to provide some shade against the afternoon sun. But one day this camellia will outgrow the delphs so I've planted a fast growing blue spruce.

The sun is only a problem in the summer. April Tryst takes a lot more sun than other types of camellias. In the winter it gets full sun without problem. See if you can provide mottled shade from the southwest side in the summer and it'll be pretty happy.

And remember shade doesn't mean complete shade, mottled is fine for this one.

o