Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
spunky_ma_z6

winter snowman ice angels camellia in Massachusetts

spunky_MA_z6
19 years ago

Hi all,

I would love to have a camellia in my new yard as a tribute to my mother. I found this one on Monrovia that seems appropriate.

Is it truly hardy in my area? How will it do on the north side of my neighbor's house (my lot line)? How long until it will reach 6 feet or so? What should I know?

I am a total newbie with this so I appreciate any advice you can give me. I don't mind spending money for a bigger plant, but I don't want it to die on me. Also, I would like to enjoy the flowers....don't want them to freeze off by a late frost. Any hope?? Thanks.

Here is a link that might be useful: monrovia winter snowman ice angels

Comments (4)

• jenny_in_se_pa
    19 years ago

One of my sisters appears to have one of the Ice Angels series (or probably one of the precursors to it judging by the age, but the flower looks like Ice Follies"). She lives in Delaware County, PA, which has been a Zone 7 for some time. Hers, inherited by the previous owner of the house (who was also the original owner when the house was built in the '50s), is several decades old and is probably close to 10 - 12ft tall. It is also a spring bloomer (starting around April and going into May). Neither she nor I nor any of the old-timers who live on her street who were also original owners - most in their 80s now, knew what it was! We just haven't seen these up here - at least prominently in the landscape. Once I ID'd it thanks to GW, on a visit to my sis when she had a BBQ for the neighbors, I let them all know and they were appreciative since all loved it over the many years.