Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
njcbrand

Need 3 camellias, one for each season...

njcbrand
18 years ago

Hi! I'm new to camellias, but after browsing this forum have decided I want to put three in a raised garden against a 12-foot tall privacy fence in shaded back yard. I'd love to have a pink, a striped, and a red: one that blooms in spring, one in fall, and one in winter. Basically, I want blooms all through the cold seasons. If I have to plant five to get this, fine (the fence is really long). They'll get mid-day sun for a few hours when the leaves aren't on the trees, and then dappled shade all through summer. What are some good varieties that will grow well together? I've found a local nursery that has 5-foot tall ones for $30, so plan on buying that size. Also, any suggestions for spacing them and for dirt mixture for raised garden (I haven't constructed it yet). Thanks so much--my grandmother had gorgeous camellias and am looking forward to introducing my hubby to their beauty!

Comments (8)

• njcbrand
    Original Author
    18 years ago

So I started building the raised bed by piling all the ground-up leaves from the backyard into a huge pile to form the bottom layer. I'm planning on putting a mixture of compost, native sand/clayish soil, and topsoil on top of the ground-up leaves to plant the camellias in...does this sound good? I hope they like leaf mulch, since azaleas do I assumed camellias would, too. Once they're planted, do they like hardwood mulch or leaf mulch? Thanks,
    Nancy

• livinez
    18 years ago

Kumasaka is a hardy pink japonica for early spring, very popular.
    Blood of China is a vigorous red jap. blooms late (early to mid May)

Long Island Pink is a hardy pink sasanqua that blooms in Fall.

Yuletide is a red sas. blooms winter, but I don't see it blooming outside in winter in virginia.

Same soil as for rhododendrons and azaleas is fine.