Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lisad_gw

Short Camillias for front Porch

lisad
17 years ago

Hello:

My front porch faces east and has a white oak in front of it. So in the summer that area is shady but in the winter it's sunny (morning sun only).

Someone suggested I try camillas there but I'd need one that doesn't get taller than about 5 feet. I'm partial to reds and deep pinks. Any suggestions would be appreicated.

Also, I'm new to growing camillas and was wondering if they are disease/insect hardy plants. I have roses so I'd rather not add to my woes!

Thanks!

Lisa

Comments (2)

• luis_pr
    17 years ago

Hello, Lisa. Be aware that camellias in the Far East grow to be trees several hundreds of years old. Also, be aware that the plant height specified in many plant labels refers to a 10-yr plant and not to the plant's height at maturity. So a plant advertised to grow to 5 ft. may end up being taller than that.

Based on that, I would suggest that you research the sasanqua cultivars, the smallest and most compact of all camellias. Attributes to keep in mind when choosing a plant are: USDA Zone Recommendation, plant height, blooming period (early fall, early winter, late winter or spring), flower color and blossom forms that you like.

Camellia Japonica is a shrub that can achieve heights of 25 feet but usually grows around 6-12 feet tall and 6-10 feet wide depending on the variety. That is outside of your range. Their dark green leaves are about 4 inches long. Some Japonicas bloom early but most varieties bloom in mid to late season. Personally, I am not familiar with low-growing compact Japonicas (but I am not implying there are none). Maybe someone else can chime in.