Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bunnywafer

Poor-doer in a container

bunnywafer
11 years ago

Hi all,

I did search for an answer first, and while I found some helpful posts, I didn't understand everything in them. I am quite the newb when it comes to gardening so for example, when I read another thread that suggested MG 30-10-10, I have no idea what that means. So please dumb it down for me.

My situation is a Camellia (I don't remember exactly which species) that is in a container. I've had it for about 2 years now, and it's never done as well as I would hope. It's never bloomed very well (maybe 7 blooms first year, 3-4 this year). Now, the foilage is even beginning to not look overly healthy. It doesn't look diseased, it just doesn't look healthy in parts (some leaves are more pale than others.) I wonder if I gave it sun scorch because I do think I've been guilty of watering the leaves in full sun (who knew this was a bad thing? Well, now I do, but again, I'm still learning....) I'm not home right now but I can try to give a better description of the foilage later if necessary once I look at it again. Could even post a picture if I figure out how to....

To my eyeball, the container size appears perfect, but what do I know? I can measure the plant and container tomorrow if that would be helpful information. I don't know how to tell when it outgrows the pot, but I can say I don't think it's really grown much at all since I bought it. It is on a fan trellis (came that way from the garden center) if that matters.

This plant is facing the south but it does get a fair amount of shade owing to a monstrous tree in my neighbor's yard. Last I checked I think it's in the shade from about 3 PM on.