Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
florence_2007

'Lorillardi' camellia

florence_2007
9 years ago

Hello folks, I am looking for info on the camellia 'Lorillardi' and 'Leucantha'. I would appreciate any info you might have for an article for the International Camellia society yearbook. Thanks

Comments (5)

• theoriginaldawgone
    9 years ago

Never heard of that one

If it's not in the Camellia Nomenclature , it probably doesn't exist-@ least under that name officially , and its not listed in there

• Vicissitudezz
    9 years ago

Camellia japonica 'Lorillardii' is listed at the Camellia Web Register, but I have no personal experience with it, and don't know more than what is listed there:

C. japonica 'Lorillardii' Michael Floy & Son Nursery Catalogue, 1832, p.55: Crimson and scarlet. Very fine. Orthographic error: 'Lorrillardii'. Originated in USA.

The entry for 'Leucantha' says that it's a synonym for 'Lorillardii'.

The Diary of Michael Floy, Jr. (ed. by Richard Brooks) may not yield any info on 'Lorillardii', but sounds like an interesting read for anyone interested in a social history of NYC in the 19th century...

Here is a link that might be useful: Web Camellia Register

• florence_2007
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks vmr423, I have located the info that you offered. Found nothing in google when I searched the 'Diary of..........' but, as you said, it would make for good reading. I am interested in the US pre-1900 introductions and those not registered which Lorillardi is a subject of. I would so love to locate that seeming wonderful camellia. I am collecting scions for planting that camellia with the rest of the pre-1900 collection at the LSU Burden Center in Baton ROuge. Are there any of the pre-1900's in your area, which is where? Thank you.

• florence_2007
    Original Author
    9 years ago