Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
novice_gardner

Hardy Camellia

novice_gardner
18 years ago

We moved to Zone 6 last year from Zone 8. I would very much like to plant hardy Camellias. Does anyone have any suggestions about it. After googling I did find some ideas but I want someone who has grown it in this zone(or below) to give some ideas/insight.

Thanks

Ajay

Comments (7)

• stressbaby
    18 years ago

I'm no expert on Camellias, I can only share my experience in zone 5b/6a.

First year, fall planted 3 'Snow Flurry' in part shade, planted in almost a mound of soil:peat with plenty of leaf mold top dressing, and wrapped in microfoam...I lost 2 1/2 of 3 plants...they just dried up...the foam tents shed all the winter precipitation off and away from the root zones that had not had time to establish very well.

Next spring, replanted the two that died completely, pruned back the 1/2 plant that lived...nice bloom...left off the microfoam and the plants all came through the winter OK.

The 1 plant of the three that's really thriving is the one completely under the oaks, surrounded by a yew hedge (ie, more protection).

Doing it over again, I would:
    1) spring plant
    2) choose an Ackerman hybrid or another hardy type
    3) choose a site with as much natural winter protection as possible
    4) maybe skip the microfoam

SB

• jenny_in_se_pa
    18 years ago

Ajay - where are you in PA?

• novice_gardner
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Jenny,

I am in Yardley (Bucks County, SE PA).

Ajay

• pontesmanny
    18 years ago

You may want to post in the New Jersey forum as well as I know of someone in Burlington County that has several camellias. I have 9 camellias, 6 that have made it through this past winter just fine; the other 3 were planted this Spring. I do not bother with any protection although I live in a wooded lot (mostly deciduous). All my camellias are the more hardy varieties. I have heard of problems in this zone with using microfoam

• ermazi