Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
suzanne_boesl

Camellia drought stress

Suzanne Boesl
11 years ago

I returned from a week long vacation to find my camellia 'Findlandia' had dropped all of its leaves due to the extreme heat and lack of rain. I watered it and we've had a little rain and cooler temps in the last couple of days. The stems are still green when you scratch the surface. Any idea if it will survive and leaf out again? I would appreciate any advice as I am a novice with camellias.

Comments (9)

• florence_2007
    11 years ago

If it were mine, I would cut it back, put shading over it and be sure that it gets adequate water, hope and pray.

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    11 years ago

I would not cut it back! Allow your plant to recover normally....if it will recover. Wait until you actually see some die -back before doing any pruning. I wouldn't try to rig up any extra shade, either.
    It's very tough on evergreen plants to defoliate entirely for any reason. They don't have the same energy storage system as deciduous plants. It will take an awful toll on their carbon resourses to put on new leaves, let alone to respond to pruning.

Let's figure out why your plant had such trouble in just one week. Is this a containerized plant? If not, is it very recently planted? What else can you tell us? Where is tbe plant situated?

Camellias can take extreme heat, as long as they are in the right location, have been planted properly, and have adequate moisture. I consider Camellia to be very drought tolerant if well and properly established though in drought conditions and crazy heat they'll suffer.

• luis_pr
    11 years ago