Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
daysquid

Larger Plants

daysquid
11 years ago

Excuse me for what might be a very silly question but I'm completely new to gardening. I have prepared a sloped part-shade garden bed that is about 30 X 40. I want to plant a few larger, flowering evergreens as a background plant at the very top of this slope. Can you buy large camellias that would be about 4' tall or even taller? I was thinking about rhododendrons but then came across camellias and they are just beautiful. If I want some larger plants across the top, I just didn't know if I could purchase camellias this size. Thanks for any thougths.

Comments (8)

• luis_pr
    11 years ago

I have run into a few tall camellias for sale at nurseries but only when they restock their inventories with new camellias. The precise date varies from one place to another so it may be worth it asking when do they expect camellia shipments. Big stores like Lowes teend to have 2' tall bushes only but HD once had a >4' tall ones. They are obviously expensive though. You can also call local landscape companies to see if they will share with you the name of local places where you can get very tall camellias.... just in case these places have an even taller camellia that will not break the budget by much.

Mail-order and Internet nurseries can also have tall camellias but I would recommend contacting by phone for this type of sale (as opposed to email). That way, you can discuss more details and get answers rightaway.

I notice new camellias in nurseries from October thru December.

• daysquid
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you for all your expertise on this. I really felt silly asking. I'll definitely take your advice and call around. Again, many thanks!

• jeff_al
    11 years ago

check your local home-owned nurseries, too.
    we have 2 that i can think of in this area that keep those sizes in stock year-round.