Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stb95123

help - plumbers have chopped up roots

stb95123
19 years ago

How much root chopping can an old an old Camellia take?

I am brand new to gardening and to this house. It has an old Camellia, no idea how old but it is at least a foot higher than the roof and the trunk is thick. I've been trying to figure out why the leaves were turning yellow and it looks like the answer has been a slow water leak that has been going on from before we even moved in. The landlord sent some plumbers out here and before I could say or do anything they dug into the leak and when I got here and looked outside I saw many chunks of roots in the piles of dirt. I saved some of the branches they broke to try doing some cuttings (I don't even know if this is the right time of year for it) but is there anything I can do when they are out of here to help it not stress too much?

Thanks.

Susan

Comments (7)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    19 years ago

Without seeing the amount of the actual damage, all I can suggest is that you mulch the area with several inches (up to 4) of good organic mulch and keep it moistened on top. Don't water a great deal unless your soil drains very well.

Don't fertilize whatever you do... and don't prune, except to cut off the damaged limbs and branches to an outward growing branch or to the main stem. You may receive some advice about 'pruning to compensate for root loss', but that would be faulty advice!!

A good professional would have contacted you or the property owner about the camellia, warning about the damage that bound to happen. There may have been some options.

I'll keep my fingers crossed for you!

• forrestal
    19 years ago