Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
varmi

Who is your favourite and why?

varmi
18 years ago

Hi all

I'm new to camellias, having just transplanted one old thing yesterday. I read up all I could on this site before I did it. I'm afraid I may have caught something, I think it's called "Gottahavmor Disease" ;P

Saw a pick of "Ville de Nantes"...wow!

Anyway, have fun in this thread

varmi

Comments (11)

• longriver
    18 years ago

Welcome to the club! I admitted that I have Gottahavmor Sydrome. I did have "Villa de Nantes". So far I have over 1,000 camellias in my backyard about 25% are named cultivars and many camellia species. Please do not get too surprised. There is always other side of story.

Compared to another camellia nut having about 3,000 or 5,000 camellias( not too many). I am just a junior. My friends come to my house and often manage to get a few with them. They are so gratiful and at the same time it reduces my excessive load.

There is also another way to look at. Every year I can produce about 200 crossed seedlings. It does not take too long to reach one K. The anticipation and excitment to behold the new and the unknown flower is the worth of all that efforts.

Have fun!

• varmi
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Well Longriver, I must say I'm gobsmacked & impressed! Wish I had the land, imagine the possibilities ;P HA! you call yourself a junior! Not a camellia nut? Junior nut seems a good compromise, I hope to be an emerging to developing camellia nut. Am a rose hip myself but felt the winter is left for dead by these beauties...I started noticing the cammies around the place :)