Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
goatster

Need a good variety for a beginner in 7B

goatster
19 years ago

Hello everyone. I have one camellia I bought about 2 years ago and it seems to be doing ok, but I would say I am a beginner. I am needing some good varietis for my area SW of Atlanta that is hardy and easy to grow. A source to buy them would be nice also and best time of year to plant.

Comments (10)

• Bumblebeez SC Zone 7
    19 years ago

I would buy what is available at Home Depot or Lowes, and plant them now in filtered sun.

Save your receipts, and if they die in the next year, dig up the plant and return it.

• LoraxDave
    19 years ago

Goatster, most Camellias are easy to grow. If you can grow other shrubs, you can grow Camellias. Just try what you like!

• goatster
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thanks for responding. I went through the gallery and found several I just LOVE. I have to have Pink Perfection. Also love Nuccios Gem and Pearl, C. M. Wilson. Are these also easily found at Lowe's or Home Depot? If not, I may have to check every nursery in Columbus! Thanks again.

• Bumblebeez SC Zone 7
    19 years ago

I think the main thing in getting a camellia to do well for you is to pick the correct site. Try to find a place that gets some filtered shade, i.e. high pines or other trees.

Try to avoid morning sun in general and buy, at first, what is available locally. Look at nurseries also. You could order something that you see in the gallery pictures, but there are so many beautiful ones that you will want more than one or two! Most camellias are about the same in the amount of care that they require.

• jeff_al
    19 years ago

our local lowe's has been selling some nice cultivars the past several years, usually during late summer and fall.
    i found 'nuccio's gem' and 'nuccio's pearl' there.

• glantern
    19 years ago

Goatster,