Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laurell_gw

Smaller camellias - prefer red blooms

laurell
15 years ago

Hello,

I live in the Seattle area and I recently bought a home and I'm trying to plan out a garden and landscaping. I plan to plant some daisy gardenias in my front garden bed in front of a window, and would like to intersperse them with a red, orange, or yellow blooming camellia, but one that won't get too tall or big around. Ideally, no more than 3-4 feet tall. The bed only gets late afternoon sun, other than that it's shielded completely by walls.

I'm also interested in getting some upward growing camellias that would be likely to survive on the south side of my house. They'd get sun until the late afternoon (opposite from the other ones) but preferably wouldn't grow more than 10 feet tall. These would couple with some photinia to form a sight block so I don't have to see into my neighbor's yard that's full of junk.

I'm new to gardening and this is my first home, so any input or suggestions that you have, I'm very interested in hearing them. I'm setting up my compost bin this weekend so I have something to enrich the soil with when I start planting in early spring.

Comments (3)

• luis_pr
    15 years ago

You may want to consider Kurume Azaleas, which stay low and grow to about 18 to 30" in height. Examples are Hino Crimson and Hershey's Red. Or you can use low growing hydrangeas like those in the City Series (Paris is a dark pink). There are no true red or yellow hydrangeas though.