Return to the Camellia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How to germinate Camellia seed?

Posted by 5862xwg none (My Page) on
Tue, Oct 8, 13 at 14:26

I'm obsessed with growing plants from seed. I know they will be slow growing and possibly will never flower but I just like the feeling of accomplishment. Anyway, I'm new to Camellia. I've been growing Adenium and I feel like Camellia is on the opposite side of succulent. Does anyone have any experience germinating Camellia seeds and caring for seedling during spring? I live in KY Zone 6.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How to germinate Camellia seed?

I put them in a container and cover with 1 inch of soil. Then I cover them with 1 foot of leaves during the winter. In the spring I remove the leaves and they start to germinate in April. I grow them in the pot the first year and the next year I plant them in the garden. Camellia Forest Nursery has lots of seeds for sale of different species.

o

Thanks, mrlynn

How about germinating them in a container? I don't have a yard to put them in.

o

You may find this link to be useful- I did. Over the last 2 months, I planted hundreds of seeds gathered from plants around the neighborhood & in our yard- some are already leafing out, but most are still thinking about germinating...
http://camelliaexpress.wordpress.com/2011/07/10/growing-camellia-seed/

o

I think it helps to use a nail file (or something similar) to break through the outer seed coat.

o

Thanks for the link, vmr.

restoner, I heard people has used hammers to crack seed open.

For those who's grown camellia from seed, can you guys send a couple images? I want to wait until next spring to plant them but I can't wait to see what I'm dealing with. Thanks

o