Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mwiegers_gw

Need advice, planting new camellias this weekend

mwiegers
16 years ago

Hi everyone,

I'm new to gardenweb and to gardening for that matter. But am getting started with planting some camellias this weekend. I'm planting them along a chain link fence under some really big trees (nice shaded protection). I'm hoping these will grow into a nice hedge in the years to come.

I'm planning on surrounding the root ball with 4 inches of soil conditioner. Someone also told me to purchase something that helps the root establish well. And someone else told me to purchase some Miracid or Hollytone because camellias like acidic soil. Would you mix all of this into the soil conditioner togehter? And then surround the root ball 4 inches around?

Any other tips on giving my camellias the best start they can get would be appreciated. We're planting 12, so this is a big investment for me!

Oh I'm also planning on buying a soaker hose to water them. For how long (time amount) should I leave a soaker hose running to give them enough water? I'm thinking I need to water every other day?

Any help would be so much appreciated. Thanks so much!

Michelle

Comments (5)

• forrestal
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Sounds like a good plan. A couple of suggestions I have found: Since camellias are surface root plants it is better to dig a wide shallow hole than a deep one. If you purchase the plants in containers, unweave the deepest roots and spread them out. If the ground is flat, plant high. Try not to bury the top of the root ball. Then mulch well all around. The idea is to keep the plant from ever sinking below grade, while letting the roots spread out.

• winterose
    16 years ago

Don't give them Miracid now! It's a high nitrogen fertilizer, they will start growing when they should be going dormant. They could drop all their buds or worse.