Return to the Camellia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
what is a good companion plant for camellias?

Posted by orangic_pixiedust southern california (My Page) on
Thu, Oct 19, 06 at 19:46

i'm a newbie and would love your advice!

I have two medium sized camellia bushes (5' tall and 5' wide) in front of my house which bloom fuschia pink flowers. they are about 12 feet apart. between the camellias is a very sad plot of dirt. this dirt plot lands beneath my windows.

what plants would you recommend that i plant between the camellia bushes? i'm totally new at this and don't know what would look good. i was think gardenias, but i don't know if it's going to look too bush-heavy between the camellias. maybe calla lillies?

anything everygreen or with white flowers would be great! and it's a spanish house, if that helps.

i live in zone 20 according to the sunset western book.

thank you!!!!!!!!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: what is a good companion plant for camellias?

In our region (the Gulf Coast) one of the best companions is hydrangea. They are not evergreen, but they combine well with camellias because they bloom almost the opposite time of year, each complementing the other. And just when autumn arrives the hydrangeas shed their leaves, retreating from the garden stage as the camellias begin to show off their winter wares.

There are many other companions that do well, but we have come to like this combination.

o

thank you for the suggestion! i love hydrangeas!

o

It's nice to use something that is deciduous, I think! At the very least, you should come up with something with a different form, leaf size, etc.

o

I have late spring blooming gardenias and deciduous azaleas (Dodd's confederate series) around mine.

o